International Door & Operator Industry

JUL-AUG 2013

Garage door industry magazine for garage door dealers, garage door manufacturers, garage door distributors, garage door installers, loading docks, garage door operators and openers, gates, and tools for the door industry.

Issue link: https://idoi.epubxp.com/i/147354

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 76 of 119

institute of Door Dealer education and Accreditation News&EvEnts Dealers Come Out in Large ™ Numbers for IDAExpo Educational Seminars By Todd Thomas Recalling numbers that preceded the "GreatRecession,"the2013IDAExpo™ drew a robust audience of door dealers during the two days of education… the highest numbers since 2008. In all, 2,703 heads were counted during the May 8-9 sessions in Nashville, an increase of 561 over the previous year's event in Las Vegas. "This is a good sign that dealers are coming back to the IDAExpo in large numbers,"saidIDEAPresidentGarry Stewart, whose organization produces the educational programming for the IDAExpo. "We will go to work right away to bring another educational line-up to Las Vegas in 2014 and to keep that trend pointed in the right direction," he added. The educational line-up featured a mixture of professional speakers and industry experts who spoke on a wide variety of business and industry issues. Among the hottest topics in Nashville were technology-oriented seminars. MaximeandMartinGendreauof Garagapresented"GettingtheMost OutofYourTablet,"drawing115 attendees. Kyle Hart of Doormaster in British Columbia made his IDAExpo debut in front of 158 door professionals who came to learn about "Using Mobile Technology in the Door Industry." First time presenter Kim Wiest of PMG,amarketingandpublicrelations frm in the Cincinnati area, opened the frst session on Wednesday with 212 attendees, on the topic "Marketing: It's Not What You Do When the Phone Stops Ringing, followed by veteran presenter Tim Castello of Miller Edge who discussed "Change Your Selling Approach to Increase Sales" before an audience of 148. Continued on page 76 IDEA Offcers and Directors GarryStewart(IDA),President The Doorman Service Company Kent, Washington garry@doormanservice.com Dan Dombkowski (DASMA), 1st V.P. TheChamberlainGroup Elmhurst, Illinois dan.dombkowski@chamberlaingroup.com Joseph Chisholm (IDA), 2nd V.P. Joseph Chisholm Door Corp. Waltham, Massachusetts joedoors@aol.com Bearge Miller (DASMA), Treasurer Miller Edge, Inc. Jennersville, Pennsylvania bmiller@milleredge.com Mark Daus (DASMA), Director Wayne-Dalton Corp. Dundee,Ohio mdaus@wayne-dalton.com Richard Lano (IDA), Director JVSGarageDoorCompany PortClinton,Ohio jvsgarage@cros.net Mark McManus (IDA), Director Door Boy Berkeley Heights, New Jersey mark@doorboy.com Deborah Nagele (DASMA) Torsion Source Twinsburg,OH dnagele@torsionsource.com Karen Cohen (DASMA), Director OverheadDoorCorp. Lewisville, Texas karen_cohen@overheaddoor.com Cathy Sexton conducting seminar. Casey Pacetti (IDA), Director OverheadDoorCo.ofFortMyers/ Naples Fort Myers, Florida caseyp@ohdswf.com SteveGuyton(DASMA),Director The Cookson Company Phoenix, Arizona sguyton@cooksondoor.com Michael Whitacre (IDA), Director Carl's Door Service Baldwin, Maryland mwhitacre@carlsdoorservice.com Todd Thomas, Managing Director tthomas@longmgt.com Debra Welhener, Administrative Manager dwelhener@longmgt.com Dawn Jennings, Accounting Manager djennings@longmgt.com 74 International Door & Operator Industry™

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of International Door & Operator Industry - JUL-AUG 2013